Over half a dozen PTI and govt-backed candidates win Senate seats

Over half a dozen PTI and govt-backed candidates win Senate seats

Former prime minister Yousaf Raza Gilani has emerged the victor from his Islamabad seat in the ongoing Senate Elections 2021, marking a major win for the Opposition parties’ anti-government coalition, the Pakistan Democratic Movement (PDM).

Yousaf Raza Gilani beat Finance Minister Abdul Hafeez Shaikh — associated with the ruling PTI — in what was arguably the most-watched contest for the Senate elections.

Gilani bagged 169 votes, whereas Shaikh got 164. One vote was not cast.

A vote is cast during the Senate Election 2021 in a provincial assembly in Pakistan, March 3, 2021. APP/Shaheryar Anjum

Polling, which was scheduled from 9am to 5pm, ended at the set time, with counting of the votes underway. Lawmakers voted for some 37 vacant seats in the Senate, with 11 senators previously elected unopposed from Punjab.

Six of the total 340 ballots cast in the National Assembly were rejected, according to the returning officer.


Of the total seven candidates that won general seats, four were backed by the government, two from the Opposition and one was an independent candidate, Abdul Qadir, who backed jointly by the BAP and PTI.

ANP’s Arbab Muhammad Umar Farooq, and BAP’s Ahmed Kakar, Sarfaraz Ahmed Bugti, and Price Ahmed Umar Ahmed were the candidates supported by the government that have each been elected to a general seat.

Meanwhile, JUI-F’s Maulana Abdul Ghafoor Haideri and BNP’s Muhammad Qasim were the candidates that enjoyed support from the Opposition.

Of the two women’s seats, BAP candidate Samina Mumtaz who was backed by the government won one, as did Nasima Ahsan, an independent candidate who joined ANP a day earlier and enjoyed support from the Opposition.

Of the two technocrat seats, JUI-F’s Kamran Murtaza, an Opposition-backed candidate emerged victorious for one and BAP’s Saeed Ahmed Hashmi, who enjoyed the BAP-PTI coalition’s support, secured the other.

The PTI government-backed BAP candidate Dhanesh Kumar won the minority seat.


In the Sindh Assembly, 167 out of 168 members cast their votes as JUI-F member Abdul Rashid did not cast his vote. Out of the 167 ballot papers cast, four were rejected.

The PPP, according to unofficial results, obtained seven more votes and have 99 members in the Assembly.

MQM’s candidate for a women’s seat Khalida Ateeb won with 57 votes, while PPP’s Palwasha Khan also won a women’s seat with 60 votes and Rukhshana Shah got 46 votes.

According to sources in the ECP, PPP’s Saleem Mandviwalla, Sherry Rehman, and Jam Mehtab Dhar have also been elected.

PPP’s Farooq H Naek obtained 61 votes and won a technocrat seat, having won five more seats than the opponents.

Khyber Pakhtunkhwa

In the Khyber Pakhtunkhwa Assembly, all 145 votes have now been cast and counting has begun. The polling time had been extended due to some unknown difficulties.

PTI’s Sania Nishtar has won the women’s seat with 56 votes, unofficial results show. Another candidate from the party, Falak Naz also obtained a women’s seat with 51 votes.

The MPs were required to vote for 37 vacant seats of the Senate with 11 senators elected unopposed from Punjab. Polling was held for 12 seats each of Balochistan and Khyber Pakhtunkhwa, 11 of Sindh, and two of the federal capital.

MPAs from the three provincial assemblies cast their vote for the candidates fielded from Balochistan, KP, and Sindh, while MNAs voted for the representatives from the federal capital.

More to follow

Source link

Check Also

Man brandishing pistol, knife outside Parliament House arrested

Man brandishing pistol, knife outside Parliament House arrested

ISLAMABAD: Police arrested a man outside the Parliament House Monday for brandishing a pistol and …

Leave a Reply